Table tennis Rules

Rules

Melvyn HTS
Melvyn HTS Asked 7 years ago

Ok so,I have a question, where in a serve

When I toss the ball and catch it with my toss hand afterwards despite the ball not land on the ground or finishing my stroke,I mean I catch a bad toss and no contact with the ball

Or

I make toss,make a movement(stroke) but stop in midway and catch the ball with my free hand

Someone told me they are considered as fault

So is it really consider as a fault?

I know in tennis,sometimes players made bad toss and catch the ball but it is not considered as fault

 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Melvyn,

They are both a fault.  As soon as the ball leaves your hand it is in play even if you don't swing at it.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Crossing Over to the Other Side

Where on the court are you allowed to go? In this lesson we show you exactly what you are allowed to do. We also answer the question on whether you are allowed to stand on the table.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.