11 - 0 is illegal score

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Frendy Halim

Frendy Halim Asked 7 years ago

Hi sir Alois and Jeff, I still remember when my friend have a match
he lose 11 - 0 and then our schoold teacher said to the umpire that it's illegal if there's a winner with the opponent score is 0 but the umpire refuse it and my friend's totally lose
so just want to ask, is it true that 11 - 0 score is illegal ? if yes, then why ?
please for the answer :D thank you very much ^^


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Frendy,

It is very possible to have a score of 11 - 0.

There is a wide misconception that if the score gets to 7 - 0 that is the end of the game but this is not true.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Shripathi ramakrishnan

Shripathi ramakrishnan Posted 7 years ago

morally speaking , it is illegal. if one can sink so low as to skunk somebody 11-0, they dont deserve to play...thats extremely poor sportmanship!


Swaroop Lakey

Swaroop Lakey Posted 7 years ago

Right bro !!! They doesn't deserve to play.


Frendy Halim

Frendy Halim Posted 7 years ago

so, what you all think about that ?
I remember that my teacher said there're no 11 - 0 score on any match...
hhmm....


Swaroop Lakey

Swaroop Lakey Posted 7 years ago

Hey Fredy, I think your sports teacher used to some other game neither than table-tennis. The same thing happened to me, teacher said my ghost serve(back spin) was a foul. SO, don't play tt at school. You might spoil your game. Pity on you bro!


Frendy Halim

Frendy Halim Posted 7 years ago

I don't know either because my sports teacher is not a table tennis teacher, he's just guiding us to the match, not the coach...

poor me :(


Arnon Thaicharoen

Arnon Thaicharoen Posted 7 years ago

11-0 is possible and it happened to me several times (I got 0 point).

I don't think it's morally bad for the winner to take 11 points. This is sports! You play the best way you can. If you can take complete victory, it should be viewed as good play on your part.

Giving points to your opponent because you think he cannot win them by himself is condescension. I don't want that on the receiving end.


Ji-Soo Woo

Ji-Soo Woo Posted 7 years ago

FYI there was a previous thread on this issue:

http://www.pingskills.com/table-tennis-forum/what-to-do----10-0/


Frendy Halim

Frendy Halim Posted 7 years ago

oh i see... thank you everyone ^^


Oliver

Oliver Posted 7 years ago

This is just so your opponent does not get humiliated. For example if in the Olympics a person had a lot of supported, how do you think they would feel about losing 11-0 in front of all their fans? However, personally, depending on who I'm playing, I might just try to win the point on the safe side (simply because they might catch up).


Arnon Thaicharoen

Arnon Thaicharoen Posted 7 years ago

Oliver, I beg to disagree. If the opponent gives one easy point to avoid 11-0, I think the other side will surely notice. After all the fans are well-versed in TT matches. It would give more insult instead of saving the face.


RJ Reyes

RJ Reyes Posted 7 years ago

I hate losing 0-11.  I've done it, and it makes me feel like I have no need for the sport.  If I know I'm going to be more skilled than the other player, I try to keep it competitive.


Michael Pickering

Michael Pickering Posted 7 years ago

In our match last week, one of our players was losing 9-0, he went on to win the that game. So I am not sure it is wise to give the player a point, you may go on to lose the game.


mat huang

mat huang Posted 7 years ago

Yeah, sometimes if you deliberately let the other person get a point, it seems you think they a really bad so you give them a point. And thats kinda mean


Oliver

Oliver Posted 7 years ago

Arnon. You do have a point but on the other hand, if I won 11-0 I would feel bad about beating my opponent 11-0. Whether or not they prefer losing 11-0 is up to them, but if I won like that I would feel slightly guilty about it.


Damodar Pai

Damodar Pai Posted 7 years ago

If anybody loses 11-0 I think he should quit table tennis as he is insulting the sport.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Really??


Arnon Thaicharoen

Arnon Thaicharoen Posted 7 years ago

Oliver, if you feel sorry for your opponent, it's fine. But it's not your fault. You put in your time and effort and your result shows it. Perhaps your opponent is just the opposite. I don't think cultivating the habit of "playing down" on your opponent is good for TT development.

Once in recent ITTF Pro Tour, I watched Adrien Mattenet beat Oh Sang Eun 11-0 without any hesitation. At that time, my thought was like 'Shit, this man has no compunction'. But later, I feel inclined to accept the reality of it. Both played to the best of their ability. The outcome was not their fault.


Dilena Kulasinghe

Dilena Kulasinghe Posted 7 years ago

haha Lol

I lost to Ivan Sulfaro 11-0 at Dandenong (moomba)  senior open 


bertus bertus

bertus bertus Posted 7 years ago

I Don't think it's an insult to win a game by 11-0. Just don't drewl over it and carry on the match.


Jimmy Sanchez

Jimmy Sanchez Posted 7 years ago

11-0 is like a Flawless Victory in Mortal Kombat :) . So it happens and will continue happening.


Rene van der Kleij

Rene van der Kleij Posted 7 years ago

It’s competition, nothing wrong in the fact of winning or losing with extreme score differences in whatever sport, anti-sportive is showing off while doing it and we have all met people that show humiliating attitude towards opponents. Maybe contact sports are the exception.

 

 


D K

D K Posted 5 years ago

I also do not think that this is wrong.

I have lost many sets or even the whole matches without scoring a single point


Michael Twin Dragon

Michael Twin Dragon Posted 5 years ago

I like what the professional Chinese players do and that if they (or me) is ahead of my opponent I  give them a point either hitting into the net or missing my serve, and that way my opponent saves face on paper. Anyone watching will, of course, know the whole story. Remember it's a game and I believe in making friends in the end of the match.

Twin a Dragon


Jason Zhang

Jason Zhang Posted 5 years ago

In a match with Dimitrij Ovtcharov, Fan Zhendong when ahead 10 - 0, gave Ovtcharov a point intentionally and then after that, Dimitrij did the same. The commentator mentioned this was good sportsmanship, so I follow the same philosophy. At the current moment, however, I haven't gotten the chance :P 


Michael Twin Dragon

Michael Twin Dragon Posted 5 years ago

I applaud this and if I'm ever ahead I truly have done the same!

Twin Dragon ☺️


Jimbob Fernfarter

Jimbob Fernfarter Posted 3 years ago

At a tournament I once won 4 games in a row 11-0 and not once did my opponent do a lap of the table with his pants pulled down. This flagrant flaunting of the rules is a disgrace.

 (From ITTF RULES OF TABLE TENNIS)

2.11 A GAME 
2.11.01 A game shall be won by the player or pair first scoring 11 points unless both players or pairs score 10 points, when the game shall be won by the first player or pair subsequently gaining a lead of 2 points.

2.11.02 A player who fails to win a single point in a game must circumnavigate the table using a running motion with their pants pulled down to at least their knees. The only exception to this shall be if the player is under the age of 18 years. 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

Very amusing Jimbob...

Perhaps there is a tribunal that you can refer said opponent to...


D K

D K Posted 3 years ago

emmm....whaaat?
This is a joke,the last point ,isnt it?


azhar bhabha

azhar bhabha Posted 3 years ago

Sadly DK, it is not. I have had to do the same a couple of times during my beginning days. These rules drive you to get better.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.