Backspin serve bounces back over the net

Rules

Garvin Yim
Garvin Yim Asked 14 years ago

Hello, I was just wondering, say if you made a fully legitimate serve with a lot of backspin and it hit the opponent's side of the table, then due to the backspin it bounced back over the net without the opponent touching it... who's point would that be or would play resume with the server hitting it again? Many Thanks, Garv


Jeff Plumb
Member Badge Jeff Plumb Answered 14 years ago

If this happens then the server wins the point. The reason this does not occur very often in matches, is that to serve the ball like this you need to serve it really slowly and with quite a high bounce. This would give the receiver to much time to step around the side of the table and hit the ball for an easy winner.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

How Many Lets?

How many lets are you allowed in a row in Table Tennis?

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.