Last updated 5 years ago
Say your opponent hits a high backspin lob. The ball crosses your end line when it is high in the air, but then starts drifting back and looks like it will bounce on your side of the table.
First, once the ball passes the end line from being over the table to above where you usually stand, technically, the point is yours, but it is hard to see in real time with the naked eye. Is it the umpire's responsibility to give you the point? Can you stop the rally to point out that this has occured?
Second, once the ball passes the end line going in the opposite direction, so it is now over the table and is about to bounce on your side of the table, what if you catch the ball?
Third, if you let the ball bounce on your side and do nothing, whose point is it?
If the ball looks like it has passed the end line on a high lob it is best to let it bounce. It is the umpires call and he might not see it the same way you do. If you catch the ball you are putting yourself at risk of losing the point. Play on.
If the ball bounces on your side it would be considered your opponents point.
Become a free member to post a comment about this question.