Bat moving over the table when serving

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 years ago

Shaikh Shaiyan Ahmed

Shaikh Shaiyan Ahmed Asked 2 years ago

Hi coach,

My friends are having arguments almost everyday about serves so I decided to  ask you and get this matter solved. 

So what happened is, one of us serves in a way that after hitting the ball in the service the bat moves in front of the table so this is creating confusion that if this is legal or not. One thing I should mention is that the ball is being hit behind the line but the action of the serve is such that after hitting the ball the bat goes across the line.

Could you please kindly let me know if this is legal or that is a wrong serve.

I wish you all the best and hope to hear from you soon. 

Kind regards,

 

Shaiyan


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 years ago

Hi Shaik Shaiyan,

When you contact the ball it has to be behind the end line but then the bat is allowed to go over the table either before or after it contacts the ball.

Hope this clears up your arguments for you.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.