Bat usage

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 10 years ago

Bruce Baulch

Bruce Baulch Asked 10 years ago

Hello Alois

I have just watched the Utube of you and Jeff and a question I have had put to me which I have had varying answers. My question. Is it legal to have both hands on the bat at the same time when returning a ball, as you see all the time in Tennis. Bruce Baulch

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 10 years ago

Hi Bruce,

As far as I know you are allowed to use both hands.  The only time you have to have a free hand is when you are serving so that you can throw the ball up.

You can swap hands as well if you so desire. 

I will put this one to our panel of experts and see what I get. 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.