Last updated 1 month ago
i changed bats between different rubbers in a league game
played with pimples v one player and normal bat against another
but afterwards someone questioned if it was allowed
the bats were not changed mid-rubber or mid-set
just between the 2 rubbers
the ITTF don’t make it so clear
someone says it isn’t allowed but others say it is.
the other team didn’t complain at the time either
I warmed up fully before both rubbers without changing bat in the warm up. So the other players knew what i was playing with
According to ITTF (International Table Tennis Federation) rules, once a match has started, players are not normally allowed to change their racquets unless the racquet is accidentally damaged so badly that it cannot be used. The match is considered to start when the first serve of the match is made.
In the situation you've described, it appears you're talking about changing racquets between individual matches (i.e., when you're playing against different players during a team event). Each individual match within a team event is considered a separate match according to ITTF rules, and as such, you are allowed to change your racquet between these separate matches.
Players may change their racquets between matches of a team event, between team events. However, within individual matches (not between them), you need to stick with the same racquet throughout.
Become a free member to post a comment about this question.