Boomerang Serving

Rules

Sohan Punnoose
Sohan Punnoose Asked 11 years ago

What will happen if the ball pitches back on the server's side while serving?  This mostly happens in a backspin serve.Who's point is it, the person who served or the person who received?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Sohan,

That is the servers point.  The receiver must touch the ball before it goes back for the rally to continue.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.