Bounce the ball while serving

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 months ago

Josep Aixa

Josep Aixa Asked 3 months ago

Is it allowed to bounce the ball on the table several times while serving?

Some players do so in order to disturb the receiver.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 months ago

Hi Josep,

Yes you are allowed to do that as long as you don't take too long.

If the umpire deems that you are doing it just to waste time and disturb your opponent they can get them to lessen the time.

A lot of players do it as part of their pre point routine just a few times which I think is acceptable.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.