Broken Ball During Match

Rules

Rick August
Member Badge Rick August Asked 1 year ago

I have two cases to propose during a match:

Case 1 you serve a ball and notice while serving that the ball is broken.  Is this a let or do you play out the point?

Case 2 a ball is broken during a rally.  Is this a let or do you play out the point?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 1 year ago

Hi Rick,

If you serve a ball and notice while serving that the ball is broken. If you notice that the ball is broken during the rally players will usually put their hand up while continuing to hit the ball.  Usually both players will notice it and stop the rally.  The umpire will usually call a let.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Rick August

Member Badge Rick August Posted 1 year ago

Thanks Alois.  I have two more cases to ask about. 

Case 3.  If you or your opponent hit a really hard shot to end a rally and you think that you broke the ball with the last shot do you replay the point?  

Case 4.  If neither you or your opponent realized that the ball broke in the previous rally but you pick up the ball and notice that it is broken do you need to replay the previous point?


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 1 year ago

Hi Rick,

In case 3 you wouldn’t reply the point because it didn’t effect the outcome of the rally. There same would apply for Case 4


Rick August

Member Badge Rick August Posted 1 year ago

Great.  Thanks


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.