Broken Ball During Match

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 weeks ago

Rick August

Rick August Asked 1 month ago

I have two cases to propose during a match:

Case 1 you serve a ball and notice while serving that the ball is broken.  Is this a let or do you play out the point?

Case 2 a ball is broken during a rally.  Is this a let or do you play out the point?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 weeks ago

Hi Rick,

If you serve a ball and notice while serving that the ball is broken. If you notice that the ball is broken during the rally players will usually put their hand up while continuing to hit the ball.  Usually both players will notice it and stop the rally.  The umpire will usually call a let.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Rick August

Rick August Posted 4 weeks ago

Thanks Alois.  I have two more cases to ask about. 

Case 3.  If you or your opponent hit a really hard shot to end a rally and you think that you broke the ball with the last shot do you replay the point?  

Case 4.  If neither you or your opponent realized that the ball broke in the previous rally but you pick up the ball and notice that it is broken do you need to replay the previous point?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 weeks ago

Hi Rick,

In case 3 you wouldn’t reply the point because it didn’t effect the outcome of the rally. There same would apply for Case 4


Rick August

Rick August Posted 4 weeks ago

Great.  Thanks



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.