Calling a Fault

Rules

Roy J
Roy J Asked 8 years ago

In a tt game with no umpire, if your opponent serves an illegal ball, say out of the hand, should you call a fault before giving the love one score?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Roy,

This is always a tricky one when there is no umpire.  The rules of Table Tennis were written with an umpire in mind.

It is a judgement call often about whether it is out of the hand or not.

However if you have made that decision, then the first call can be "Fault" followed by the score.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.