Calling a hidden serve

Rules

Glenn O'Dea
Glenn O'Dea Asked 9 years ago

Playing in a tournament a few weeks ago, my opponent hid the ball drop of his serve with his head, similar to what Ma Long does all the time.  The umpire didn't call him for this.  Does the receiver have the ability to call for a let, or is it only the umpire who can do this?

Thanks,

Glenn


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Glenn,

It is only the umpire that can call this.  The player doesn't have a right to call a "let".  However, if you are finding that your view is obscured, it is common practice for players to have a chat to the umpire and just make them aware that they can't see the contact.

Again, due to the umpire's positioning and the nature of the rule, it all becomes a bit clumsy.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Dropping Paddle During Play

What happens if you drop your racket in the middle of the rally. Are you allowed to continue the rally?

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.