Can I change my grip during a match?

Rules

Harikrishnan U
Harikrishnan U Asked 14 years ago

Hi Alois and Jeff,

I am curious to know whether you can change your grip in a match. For example, from shakehand to penhold in the same match. Thank you Harikrishnan


Jeff Plumb
Member Badge Jeff Plumb Answered 14 years ago

Hi Harikrishnan,

You certainly can change your grip during a match. In fact you can change it during a point if you like.

Most people are better off training with a single grip though and hence become more proficient using that grip. I can't recall seeing anyone change grips during a match.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ceiling

When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.