Can my racket touch the table?

Rules

nishanth g
nishanth g Asked 14 years ago

If the racket touches the table during the play is there a point?


Jeff Plumb
Member Badge Jeff Plumb Answered 14 years ago

Hi Nishanth,

Your racket is allowed to touch the table during a point (as long as it doesn't move the table). It is even OK for your elbow to touch the table. You can't place your non-playing hand on the table however. If you do that you lose the point.

We cover this in our video lesson on the rules.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting The Net Clamp But Not The Table

If you hit the ball and it lands on the net camp on your opponents side, is it in or out?

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.