Can You Touch the Table with Your Bat

Rules

Arya  Patel`
Arya Patel` Asked 7 years ago

If a player hits the table tennis bat on the table will the opponent get a point or it is fine? 

Thx for helping 


Jeff Plumb
Member Badge Jeff Plumb Answered 7 years ago

Hi Arya,

You are allowed to touch the table with your bat. In fact the only thing that can't touch the table is your free hand. Watch this video to see us explain this rule in detail.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.