Change of ends

Rules

Sourav Mehra
Sourav Mehra Asked 13 years ago

I have seen many matches in which players change there side during a set. Why is it so? I have given a link below. At 9:09 they change their side.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W5xQpZBVMJw


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Sourav,

You will notice in this clip that it is the deciding 7th set. 

When the first player reaches 5 in the deciding set the players change ends.  It is only in the deciding set though. 


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Kevin Z

Kevin Z Posted 11 years ago

I don't like this rule, I don't see the benefit of it


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 11 years ago

Hi Kevin,

Sometimes players feel there is an advantage at one end so this evens things up.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.