Changing grip allowed

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

James Michael Patacsil

James Michael Patacsil Asked 3 years ago

Hello, I've got a question that's been bugging me for a while now. I've learned how to play by watching your videos which are really helpful! However, I've never had a coach or a mentor to train me, and this question has been on my mind.

Is switching between different grips allowed? Like when playing mid-game, can I switch to using the Shakehand grip from the Penhold grip then switch again if I ever wanted to?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi James,

Glad you are enjoying the site.

Yes you are allowed to switch grips whenever you want even mid rally.  There are no rules as to how you have to hold the bat.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.