Changing hands

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 9 years ago

Oliver

Oliver Asked 9 years ago

I saw Timo Boll vs Chen Qi and Timo Boll changed hands. According to ITTF rules (or how I comprehend it), the free hand is set before a match. Is this legal?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Oliver,

You are allowed to change hands during a rally.  The free hand isn't necessarily set before the game.

It is done a little bit at the top level but not very often at all. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.