Rules
I saw Timo Boll vs Chen Qi and Timo Boll changed hands. According to ITTF rules (or how I comprehend it), the free hand is set before a match. Is this legal?
Hi Oliver,
You are allowed to change hands during a rally. The free hand isn't necessarily set before the game.
It is done a little bit at the top level but not very often at all.
In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.