Clipping net

Rules

Kwokching Young
Kwokching Young Asked 4 years ago

I was left frustrated since if I had win that point I might have won but their argument was that it clipped the net and it shouldn't be my point  and I know that as long as it's cross the net it's fine with two bouncesand lucky a qualified sport teacher came across later to point out to students that if it clips the net it a point or that they just got lucky but as long as it cross the net it's fine. So what's your view on that should the rules be changed or kept the way they should as the rule book says.Fustrated when I lose playing by the rules... It's also very fustrating that most of my friends dosn't throw the ball high enough and with a close palm and I lose when they do that 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Kwokching,

I think the rule should stay the same.

You should show them the videos in the Rules section on Table Tennis Rules Overview.  You can also show them the Service Rules tutorial.

I think that will help to clear up a lot of problems.  

 


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Kwokching Young

Kwokching Young Posted 4 years ago

Ok thank you for your answer Alois


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.