Deuce rules

Rules

Jim Martin
Jim Martin Asked 6 years ago

Say the score is 9/10, my opponents favor, and I just got the serve (so still two serves per player).  

I win the point of my first serve, so it’s 10 up (deuce).  Does deuce start immediately and the next serve goes to my opponent (so I don’t get my second serve), or do I get to serve once more and then serves alternate one serve each player (per deuce rule) until the end of the game? 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Jim,

This situation would not occur because in a game you change serve after the first two points and then every two points after that. So it would be a natural change of serve at 10 all. Then you change serve every point after that.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Jim Martin

Jim Martin Posted 6 years ago

 

Silly me- that’s true, so at 10-10 there would always be a serve change anyway.  It was a hypothetical question, but we didn’t think about it enough to realize. Thanks! 


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.