Does the ball need to go over the net

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Alex Velez

Alex Velez Asked 5 years ago

hey there TT masters I have a question, does the ball have to go over the net in order to be my point or my opponent's point? Or can it go on the side of the table and bounce on my opponent's table and be my point??

thanks.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Alex,

The ball can go around the net as well.  This can happen if your opponent hits the ball out wide and you hit it from outside the line of the table.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Hi Alex,

Take a look at the best shot from the PingSkills Classic for an example of this.


D K

D K Posted 5 years ago

How can I play a shot UNDER the net?

(I mean,under the side of the net,which hangs behind the side-edge)


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

If you let the ball drop low to the ground that is also possible.


D K

D K Posted 5 years ago

Would you make a video while trying it? :D



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.