Double Bounce Rule

General

sindre Unknown
sindre Unknown Asked 15 years ago

i just wonder: if i serve and the ball hits my opponent's table side twice, do i or my opponent get the point?
also, is that just for serve or also when the ball is in play?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 15 years ago

Hi Sindre,

This is your point.  The ball is allowed to bounce as short (close to the net) as you like.  Your opponent has to hit it before it bounces the second time or it is your point.  This is for serving and for general hitting as well.

Good luck with your table tennis.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

The Mercy Rule

Some people talk about a rule where if you get to a seven nil lead, you automatically win the game. However in table tennis there is no such rule. To win the game you must get to 11 points and be ahead by 2.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.