Double handed shots

Rules

dennis gonzalez
dennis gonzalez Asked 12 years ago

Hi everyone at pingskills nice to be back .

My question is when playing can a player use both hands to hold the bat like in tennis .

Thanks from gibraltar.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Dennis,

Good to have you back  coming to us from Gibraltar.

A double handed shot is allowed.  I recently checked with Graeme Ireland a noted Umpire and Referee and he assures me that you are allowed to do that.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Julio Torres

Julio Torres Posted 12 years ago

In tennis it gives you more control and power, because you are hitting the ball with more strenght, but in table tennis it isn't good because it reduce the speed of the stroke....


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.