Double hit, legal or illegal?

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 1 year ago

Graham Leslie

Graham Leslie Asked 1 year ago

During a recent local league match a player hit the ball twice when returning the ball.  He said this was allowed under the rules but no-one else was aware of this.  I remember this used to mean a lost point but has the rule changed?  Can you please clarify and point out the rule if it has changed.  

Graham Leslie

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 1 year ago

Hi Graham,

They have changed the rule so that now you can hit the ball twice as long as it is part of the same stroke and not a deliberate second hit.

In the International rules this is covered by:

a player shall score a point 
if an opponent deliberately strikes the ball more than once in succession;

The word deliberately is the key word here.

I think this has been a good change of rule because often when the ball came off both the hand and the racket, which is a double hit, the honest players would admit to it and the others wouldn't causing angst.  Now the rule if fair for everyone.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.