Doubles Body Touch

Rules

Merric Christ Raj
Merric Christ Raj Asked 8 years ago

Hi Alois,

When I am playing doubles with my friend, i ball touched my friend's shoulder and rose up next i smashed it. Is it legal?

 


Jeff Plumb
Member Badge Jeff Plumb Answered 8 years ago

Hi Merric,

That sounds like quite a party trick. Unfortunately it's not legal. If the ball hits your partners body, or your body, the point is over.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.