Doubles serve rule

Rules

Jasper Low
Jasper Low Asked 5 years ago

I always wondered why we have to serve from the right hand box diagonally. Do you have any ideas why there is this rule?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Jasper,

I think this is an old rule that has never been changed.

I think it would make much more sense now to switch from side to side like in Tennis to give similar advantages or disadvantages to right and left handers.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.