Dropping your bat

Rules

Bennett Brown
Bennett Brown Asked 9 years ago

A while ago Andrew asked a question about dropping your bat during the rally, and you responded saying that you can pick it back up but not hit it with your hand.  I thought there was a rule saying that if you hit the ball with your wrist and up, even an unintentional double hit, it still counts?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Bennett,

That is all true but you have to have the racket in your hand if it hits your finger or hand up to the wrist.

Here are some relevant sections of the rules:

   
2.05.05  The racket hand is the hand carrying the racket. 
2.05.07  A player strikes the ball if he or she touches it in play with his or her racket, held in the hand, or with his or her racket hand below the wrist. 


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.