Fault to throw the ball up and not hit it

Rules

Tim Challener
Tim Challener Asked 6 years ago

When serving is it a fault to throw the ball up and not hit the ball on the way down? i.e. choose not to make a stroke


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Tim,

That is a fault and the other player's point.  As soon as you throw the ball up it is definitely in play and you need to make a good serve.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Touching the Table

Are you allowed to touch the table during play? The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand. You leg, elbow, playing hand, and even your bat are allowed to. You are not allowed to move the table however.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.