Fault to throw the ball up and not hit it

Rules

Tim Challener
Tim Challener Asked 6 years ago

When serving is it a fault to throw the ball up and not hit the ball on the way down? i.e. choose not to make a stroke


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Tim,

That is a fault and the other player's point.  As soon as you throw the ball up it is definitely in play and you need to make a good serve.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.