Going Outside the Playing Area

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Jerome Babiera

Jerome Babiera Asked 7 years ago

Hi Alois and Jeff,

Is it completely legal to go out the playing area during a match? they do this specially during 3 set matches where they will just enjoy the match and do trick shots like lobbing outside the playing area here's a video of Werner Schlager and Chen Weixing doing it at the last set :-) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cC9GGybd7Y



Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Jerome,

Yes it is legal to do that.  This doesn't happen very often now because of the size of the courts but in an exhibition like this they often set it up.

As an aside though in a proper match between sets you are only allowed to go just outside the court. If you want to go any further you have to gain permission from the umpire.  One of the umpires would have to follow you if you go anywhere.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jerome Babiera

Jerome Babiera Posted 7 years ago

how about when someone is playing in the other court are you still allowed to go there??

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

There is nothing to say that you can't, but it is not something to do unless it is necessary.

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.