Hiding the serve

Table Tennis Service Return

Last updated 5 years ago

Archel Taneka Sutanto

Archel Taneka Sutanto Asked 9 years ago

Hi Alois and Jeff,

My uncle really like to hiding his serve. I played with him once, and he hid his serve with his arm. I can only saw his end of the bat plus, he's faking his serve too. How can I execute this? And is it a legal serve?

Thanks a lot!
Regards, Archel


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Archel,

When he is serving you should be able to see the ball throughout the serve otherwise it is an illegal serve.  Check the next time you are playing him if you can do this.  Otherwise you may have to get the rule book out!


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jason Ferdinand

Jason Ferdinand Posted 5 years ago

How about the Liu Guoliang and the Jan-Ove Waldner's unclear serve? Is it ilegal?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

In those days it was legal.  The rule was changed later.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.