Hitting before it bounces

Rules

Nico C
Nico C Asked 5 years ago

Hello,

If my opponent was to return the ball too far and it misses the table, but it also inadvertently hits my racket before falling to the ground, who would be rewarded the point?

P.S. Thank you very much for taking time out of your day and answering all of these questions!


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Nico,

If the ball goes out past the table and then hits your racket then it will still be your point because it has already gone out.  If however your racket was above the table surface and you hit it before it bounces then it is your opponent's point.

Hope that clears it up for you.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Nico C

Nico C Posted 5 years ago

Thank you very much for the clarification


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.