Rules
What is the ruling when (1) the ball is contacted on either bat and fingers at the same time (2) the ball contacts only the fingers or hand) during a match? This is referring to the playing hand for both examples.
Most people say that the point is good only up to the wrist because the arm is an extension of the bat handle. Please clear this rule up. I'm confused.
Hi Ian,
Up to the wrist is considered part of the bat. If the ball hits the finger or hand it is a good hit.
There is also a new rule that says if the ball contacts both the hand and the bat and it is in one swing and unintentional then it is still a good hit.
So in both of your cases it is a good hit.
In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.