Hitting the ball with the edge of the bat

Rules

Dimitris Stavropoulos
Dimitris Stavropoulos Asked 11 years ago

Hi Jeff and Alois,

I have two questions to ask:

  1. I have hit the ball many times with the edge of my bat (where there's no rubber), the handle of the bat, my finger and the rest of my hand. I think the rules say all that are legal. Am I wrong?

  2. If the ball, while going out, hits the post of the net and then hits the table, is it in or out?

Thank you,

Dimitris from Greece


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Dimitris,

The ball is allowed to hit the edge of the bat or even the handle.  If it still goes in then it is a good shot.

If the ball hits the net post and then goes in it is also still a good shot.  It doesn’t happen very often but it is allowed.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Dimitris Stavropoulos

Dimitris Stavropoulos Posted 11 years ago

Thanks a lot!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.