Hitting the clamp and not the net

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Nagaraj Hegde

Nagaraj Hegde Asked 4 years ago

Hi alois.

What if the ball is deflected by the clamps and it falls on the table from the top of the clamps and not the net?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Nagaraj,

The clamp is considered to be part of the net so that would be the same as the ball hitting the net and going in.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

KIRAN SUKLA

KIRAN SUKLA Posted 4 years ago

I think the rally is continue.

 


Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 4 years ago

It gets a little bit more hairy with some non-removable nets that have a base which extends along the side of the table, like this one** for example.  (** See below for the actual picture)

When the ball hits this part on your side and jumps back over the net, is it still in? I would say no, but it will be difficult to judge what should be considered to be part of the net and what doesn't.

It can also happen that you hit this extension on your opponent's side of the table, and if the referee doesn't clearly see it, he could give you the point, thinking that the ball bounced on the table.

Ok, you dont' see those kinds of nets in high level competitions, but at lower levels they are quite common.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Hi Jean,

I am getting a quick glimpse of the picture when I click on the link but I think I get it.

That would be tricky with such a big net clamp but I guess the rule would still have to apply.

The ball still has to hit the table after hitting the net clamp or post but you are right, it may be difficult to see for the umpire.

I did see this happen in a top class match just recently... Wish I could remember who it was.  Definitely one of the top Chinese players involved. 


Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 4 years ago

Sorry, I didn't notice that the link was actually jumping to a commercial site after a few seconds. Here is the actual picture:

And I think I've seen that match you're referring too as well, but I can't remember which one it was either. One other time there was the same kind of argument because of a camera fixture that they had right at the net post.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Anyone else remember the incident?


Nagaraj Hegde

Nagaraj Hegde Posted 4 years ago

Thanks for the explanation and the video, Alois. Surprised to see my recent questions being answered with videos. 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Yes it was an interesting one.


kathy mckelvey

kathy mckelvey Posted 4 years ago

Good to know the rules,  thank you!!


lyn m

lyn m Posted 4 years ago

thanks good to know


Jason Partelle

Jason Partelle Posted 4 years ago

Thought it was but not sure.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.