Hitting the return ball with body

Rules

Aaron Lin
Aaron Lin Asked 8 years ago

Let's say the opponent serves to me or we are in the middle of a rally and i return the ball properly, except  the ball i returned instead of hitting my bat, it hits the wooden handle of my bat/ or my hand/my arm/shoulder/ my non playing hand or anywhere else on my body, who's point is it?

Also, what if the ball touches my shirt first then i hit it over with my bat (total only bouncing on my side of the table once), who's point would that be?

Thanks, Aaron


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Aaron,

Up to your wrist is considered to be part of your bat.  If the ball hits there and goes back on then it is in play.

However, if it hits anything else, including your clothing then it is a point against you.

Hope that helps.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Beauford P

Beauford P Posted 8 years ago

Another pet peeve of mine. Players who 'play on' when the ball hits their chest/body/etc, and know 100% it did, but act as if nothing happened anyway.

Hitting clothing I'll give the benefit of the doubt on as it usually can't be felt. But body shots can!!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.