Hitting your fingers

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Joshua Escalada

Joshua Escalada Asked 8 years ago

Hi Alois and Jeff, is it legal if you accidentaly hit the ball with your thumb in your forehand or your index finger with your backhand?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Joshua,

Yes now it is legal to do this.  If the ball hits anywhere up to your wrist it is still a good hit.  Now it can even hit both the finger and the bat and go over and be a good hit as long as it is unintentional.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Aseem Aggarwal

Aseem Aggarwal Posted 8 years ago

will it be considered illegal if i hit the ball with my palm?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 8 years ago

You have to have the bat in your hand and the ball can only hit your hand once.  This is quite difficult.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.