if the ball hits my finger

Rules

Elliott Mascart
Elliott Mascart Asked 14 years ago

hi pingskills if i go to hit a ball and instead of hitting my paddle it hits my finger and returns onto he otherside of the table do you play on or is that my oponants point?

thanks in advanced :)


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 14 years ago

Hi Elliott,

Up to the wrist is considered to be part of your bat.  So if it hits your finger and goes on correctly it is still in play.

The rule changed recently so that even if you make a double hit where the ball hits both your finger and the bat on the way through it is still a good hit. 


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Touching the Table

Are you allowed to touch the table during play? The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand. You leg, elbow, playing hand, and even your bat are allowed to. You are not allowed to move the table however.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Elliott Mascart

Elliott Mascart Posted 14 years ago

thanks thats very helpful :)


Isaac Litster

Isaac Litster Posted 13 years ago

very helpful!

Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 13 years ago
Glad that it helped.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.