Serving from below the table level

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 1 year ago

Ronald Ham Pong

Ronald Ham Pong Asked 1 year ago

1) When I toss the ball, can I move the hand  downwards first  then move the hand upwards to release the ball at a slightly later time in a semi-continuous motion ?  

2) is there ever any scenario to do a legal serve with the ball toss hand starting from below the table even if the release is above the table ?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 1 year ago

Hi Ronald,

1) Yes you can.  The hand can lower before you throw the ball up.

2) You are not allowed the start with eh ball below the level of the table.

Here is the ITTF rule:

  1. 2.6.4
    From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.