Is it legal to place from sideways

Rules

raghavender guggilla
raghavender guggilla Asked 12 years ago

Hi Alois,

Is the legal to loop/short push the ball from sideways of TT table (lower than the net)?

Thanks,

Raghav


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Raghav,

Yes it is.  The ball doesn't have to go over the net.  If the ball comes wide enough to you then you can hit it so that it passes around the net.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.