Left hander doubles tomahawk serve

Rules

Atanas Atanasov
Atanas Atanasov Asked 12 years ago

Hi Alois,

I have a friend who is a lefthander, and his best serve is tomahawk. But in doubles this serve becomes hard for him to do it. His body when trying to make the serve is on the side of the table. The contact is behind the end line but one of our opponents said that if his body is on the side of the table, the serve is illegal. Is it?

Nasko


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Nasko,

He is allowed to do that serve and be at the side of the table.  As long as the ball is behind the end line or the extension of that line the serve is OK.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Atanas Atanasov

Atanas Atanasov Posted 12 years ago

OK, but even in that position he feels difficult to get the agle right. Does he need to change his position or he just has to practise that serve.


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 12 years ago

He may need to change his angle a bot to face the diagonally opposite area he is serving to.  Turn his right shoulder towards where he is aiming.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.