Legal serve

Rules

Vijay Madge
Member Badge Vijay Madge Asked 12 years ago

Dear Alois could you please tell me whether a serve is legal if the sever's hand/s is or comes over the table while serving. This I have often seen happening especially in high toss/pendulum services.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Vijay,

The ball is not allowed to go over the end line during the service until it is hit. So it is more about the ball rather than the hand.

Hope this makes sense.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Vijay Madge

Member Badge Vijay Madge Posted 12 years ago

of course it does make sense. The point was a ticklish one and your answer has told me as to where to look for the legality of the serve. Thank you very much. Now I will be watching both me and others more closely.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.