Legal serve

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Vijay Madge

Vijay Madge Asked 8 years ago

Dear Alois, just out of curiosity. I am a right hander and if I want to do the backhand tomahawk serve a la Ding Ning can I serve with my left hand so as to send the ball exactly the way she does in her so-called 'ace'?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Vijay,

You are allowed to serve with your left hand but it is probably better if you serve the normal Tomahawk serve with your right hand, you will get the ball swinging the same way.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Vijay Madge

Vijay Madge Posted 8 years ago

That satisfies my curiosity. I will try both the options in Ding Ning style and let you know the result. Thanks.


Vijay Madge

Vijay Madge Posted 8 years ago

Yes Alois you're right as always. I did try both the ways and found I can do a fairly satisfactory job with my right hand and as you said I got the same swing. In fact the ball continued rotating visciously even after it fell off the table. On the other hand not being used to serving with my left hand the ball went all over the place. I'll stick to the right hand and try the weapon today evening on my partner and some other companions who were regular tournament level players in their time and have now like me become aged eagles! I'm sure they are going it to find it funny. Thanks for your valuable suggestion.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.