Legal serve

Rules

Sidney Kuo
Sidney Kuo Asked 11 years ago

I saw in the video by Jeff that in a serve, the ball must be tossed straight up, yet, I saw in many videos, on Pingskills and international competitions in which the balls were tossed sideway backwards. So what is the legal boundary?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Sidney,

The rule says that you need to throw it up almost vertically.  In tournaments you tend to get away with quite a lot.  It is a rule that needs some tightening up.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Edge

What part of the table is considered to be in and what part is out... What happens if you hit the edge?

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.