missing the ball on a serve

Rules

Kent Unknown
Kent Unknown Asked 14 years ago

Coach, 

When you attempt to serve the ball, toss it up in the air, and then miss it entirely so that the ball falls to the floor without hitting the paddle or the table - is that a lost point or just a re serve?

thanks,

Kent


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 14 years ago

Hi Kent,

Thanks for your query.  

This is a point to the receiver.  The ball is in play as soon as it leaves your hand.

For other rules queries take a look at our lesson on the Rules of Table Tennis.  There is also a Table Tennis Rules Brochure that you can download and keep with you.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.