Out of bounds

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 9 years ago

carlton t

carlton t Asked 9 years ago

When you are in the middle of playing a game, your opponent strikes a ball towards you and it does not bounce in your side of the court and it passes the edge of the court then hit your bat which is not on top of the board but away from the board and it goes back on the table. Do we consider it as a challenge against you?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Carlton,

If the ball goes put past the table without hitting it, then it is always out and the point stops there.  So everything that happens after that is irrelevant.

So in this case it would be your point as the ball went out of the court without touching it.

It is always the first mistake that counts and everything after that doesn't matter. In this case the first mistake was that your opponent hit the ball out of the table.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

carlton t

carlton t Posted 9 years ago

Thank you so much coach.. well i saw your clip on you tube talking about it but this part did not hear it so wanted it to clarified for me. Your you tube clips are helping me a lot,,

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 9 years ago

No problems, Carlton.  Glad to be able to help.

Kathleen Higgins

Kathleen Higgins Posted 9 years ago

If Player A strikes a ball that clearly is not going to bounce on Player B's side, but Player B touches it with his paddle over the field of play....who's point?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 9 years ago

That is Player As point because the ball was struck over the field of play by Player B.  Even if it is 5 metres above the playing surface, going at 100km/h and rising, it is still PLayer As point because of where it was struck.

Kathleen Higgins

Kathleen Higgins Posted 9 years ago

Thanks Aloius, this sight is uch a help to me.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.