Out shots hits your bat before the ground

Rules

James Lennon
James Lennon Asked 11 months ago

Hi guys,

If your opponent hits the ball beyond the edge of the table but it hits your bat before the ground who's point is it?

Regards,

Jim


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 months ago

Hi Jim,

Great question and one that a lot of people get confused.

If the ball has already passed beyond the edge of the table and then hits your bat before it touches the ground, it is considered out of play. Therefore, the point goes to you.

Always remember, once the ball has travelled beyond the end line of the table without touching it, it's considered out, regardless of whether it then contacts your bat or body. Hope that clears it up.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.