Out shots hits your bat before the ground

Rules

James Lennon
James Lennon Asked 5 months ago

Hi guys,

If your opponent hits the ball beyond the edge of the table but it hits your bat before the ground who's point is it?

Regards,

Jim


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 5 months ago

Hi Jim,

Great question and one that a lot of people get confused.

If the ball has already passed beyond the edge of the table and then hits your bat before it touches the ground, it is considered out of play. Therefore, the point goes to you.

Always remember, once the ball has travelled beyond the end line of the table without touching it, it's considered out, regardless of whether it then contacts your bat or body. Hope that clears it up.


Recommended Video

The Unique Service Rules of Table Tennis

In this video we will discuss 2 unique service rules in the game of table tennis. We have received plenty of questions recently regarding these rules so we have decided to make a video on it.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.