Point on the serve?

General

Ken Faust Unknown
Ken Faust Unknown Asked 16 years ago

Would it be a point for the receiver if the server tosses the ball up, then legally swings, but totally misses the ball and the ball falls to the floor?


Jeff Plumb
Member Badge Jeff Plumb Answered 16 years ago

Hi Ken,

What you described is a point to the receiver. As soon as the server throws the ball up, the ball is in play and must be hit otherwise it is a fault. This is different from Tennis.

Did you have this one right?


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

The Crossover Point

Listen to Alois talk about his training focusing on the crossover point and the excellent results he achieved. As a student of the game it is important that you think about the crossover point and spend some time practicing hitting the ball there.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Ji-Soo Woo

Ji-Soo Woo Posted 16 years ago

Wow, I didn't know that!

So if you mess up your serve toss and catch the ball without even trying to swing your racquet, you lose the point?!!?  Interesting...I find this rule is usually not enforced (unless you actually swing at the ball) in local clubs...I guess people just assume it's the same as tennis.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.