Last updated 9 years ago
I just wanted to confirm some of the rules:
1. If my racquet hits the ball on the outside of the table boundary but it was coming to the table and might've made whose point is it?
2. If the ball hits the roof, is it a let or does the person who hit it to the roof lose the point or, if it still makes,does play carry on?
3. If a member of the audience yell out something to distract me and I lose, what happens?
If the ball is outside the table boundary and going to go on the table, it has to be coming in from the side of the table. The rule is that the ball has to pass over the table before it can be hit. So in this case it would be the other player's point.
If the ball hits anything other than the table it is out and the player that hit the ball loses the point.
If someone from the audience yells out it is usually OK. If you watch the international matches you will notice that the crowd is yelling out constantly. If in your case they were doing it deliberately to distract you, then you should talk to the person in charge of the competition and ask for them to be more polite.
Become a free member to post a comment about this question.