Serve ball bouncing off net to the receiver's side but not in the required block

Rules

Aditya Sawant
Aditya Sawant Asked 6 years ago

My question is while playing doubles, if, while serving, the ball hits the net and bounces on the opponent's side but in the same half as mine (from right quarter block of my side to left quarter block of the receiver's side), is it a let or does the opponent get the point?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Aditya,

The opponent would get the point because you haven't completed a proper serve.

I hope this clears it up for you.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.