Serve bouncing more than once

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Santosh More

Santosh More Asked 8 years ago

Is it a foul or a good serve if I serve and the second bounce of my serve on my opponents side will fall on the white line? 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

HI Santosh,

The serve is allowed to bounce as many times as you like on your opponents side if he let it go. In fact a good service tactic is to try and serve it close to the net so that it is going to bounce a lot of times.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Santosh More

Santosh More Posted 8 years ago

Dear Sir,

 

I am still confused I want to know when I serve the ball will bounce on my side first and second bounce on my opponents side. If that bounce will fall on a white end line then is it a legal serve or a foul?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 8 years ago

Hi Santosh,

Sorry, I was confused.  If the ball bounces on the white line, it is a good serve... play on... 


Santosh More

Santosh More Posted 8 years ago

Thanks Sir

Aaqib Ahmed

Aaqib Ahmed Posted 7 years ago

thats call ''lucky point'' if the ball touches the white line at the edge of the table.


Bhavesh Gnnanapareddy

Bhavesh Gnnanapareddy Posted 4 years ago

Hi Alois,

If the serve bounces on the opponent side of the table then without bouncing twice nor my opponent hitting it, spins back to my side of the table. Whose point is it.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

It is your point Bhavesh.  Your opponent has to hit it before it comes back for the play to go on.


Jeff Griffith

Jeff Griffith Posted 4 years ago

Hi Alois, In light of the above, can you please clarify this rule regarding a LET call?

 

2.09.01.05.01   after touching the receiver's court returns in the direction of the net; 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

That is only relating to wheelchair matches.


Jeff Griffith

Jeff Griffith Posted 4 years ago

Thanks Alois. That clears up a lot! Some of the rules summaries are not very clear about that.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.